Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored β€” what is it that speaks to you?

I have written a previous blog about a book I read a bunch of times but today I’ll write about another one. The Curious Incident of the Dog at the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.

The book was given to as a gift and it was somewhere during my exams. I started the book almost immediately and just like that the book captivated me. I’m not sure what it was, maybe the fact that I was sneaking and reading it, but I couldn’t put the book down. I finished it in 2 days.

I read it again later when my friend was also reading so that we could discuss it. It was the second time around that I realized why I liked the book. It was the innocent way it was written. I had never read a book written from a child’s point of view let alone one written in the point of view of a mentally challenged boy. It was this innocence and the fact it portrayed the fears of a challenged boy. It was a sweet and beautiful story. Also it was a detective book (one of my favourite genres).

So to anyone who hasn’t read this book read it. I am definitely sure you’ll like it. So till next time….cheers. πŸ˜€

 

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

  1. I read this book some time ago. My oldest son is autistic so it interested me how the problem was shown in the book. The author knew what he was talking about and I have since read another of his books. Good book, enjoyed it.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Second Time Around | life n me!

  3. I love this book. I recommended it to my cousin, whose grandson is autistic. This year I taught a writing intensive course called “The Search for Meaning” and I put this book on the optional reading list. The student who read it loved it too.

Leave a comment